Just got one...

lilrevuk
Ally of Robinhood
Ally of Robinhood

Just got one...

Post by lilrevuk »

Hey all, just bought a PSP with 3.72 FW.

I want to mod it, so I've been reading up and know I need to make a Pandora Set.

My question is, it asked me to update, is this ok to do?

Are there any updates that can brick?? I'm new to these things, so I need a little guidance :)

lilrevuk
And if at first you don't succeed..? Order the damn card! :Phttp://tekgems.com/Products/la-pci22-vt6421a.htm
Mirc is a place to chat, post up on the site for help!!!
sadalius
Robinhood
Robinhood

Re: Just got one...

Post by sadalius »

Well, yeah, any update can brick your PSP. But that would only occur if the flash rom of your PSP had a bad memory block in a certain location. It's rare, but it does happen. For the most part, its pretty safe to mod one. I've done about 4 of them just to see how easy it is. I've only seen one throw a pure fit and that was CoFree's first slim. It had a bad memory block though. But he got that taken care of.

Yup, to mod it, you'll need a pandora set. The bad thing about that is, to create one, you'll need access to a PSP that is already modded. I just posted a guide on creating one in the psp guides section the other day. There are folks that will make a set for you by mailing them a spare battery and pro duo memory card. Some charge money, some will do it in exchange for a memory card or an extra battery (Barter for a living anyone? :D) you can even find a few that does it for free, but if I know you lilrevuk, your gonna want to figure this out on your own.

From what I've read, there is a way to create a pandora set without having access to an already modded PSP, but I have no way of testing it.