Robin Hoods Playground

Welcome to Robin Hoods Playground
Home Page FAQ Team Search
Login 
View unanswered posts View active topics  

Delete all board cookies

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




New Topic Post Reply  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page
1, 2
 >> Next 
  Print view
Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
Offline 
 Post subject: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 3:45 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 13414
Location: In the Forest
well this is going to be my first all soft mod
It has a older firmware on it 3.1
so i think im going to use the twlight hack
to get homebrew on it and go from there.

I am wondering what the best cios would be to use for this though.
but
Im doing some reading on this.
and
will be starting soon.


"FIGHTING TYRANNY in a TECHNOLOGICAL NOTTINGHAM"
Image
No Questions by PM.


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 3:52 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:06 pm
Posts: 4039
I'd use this guide. It's pretty straight forward:

http://yafaze.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=113

It uses bannerbomb instead of the twilight hack though and works on everything up to 4.0 system menu. I'm sure you could use the twilight hack instead of the bannerbomb if you wanted to though.

I would for sure install IOS60 and cios 36 v10 at the very least. For sure install IOS60 though. As an option you can do the iosdowngrader, you'll still be on 4.0, but you'll be able to use trucha signed stuff.


Sadalius

No questions by PM please


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 4:06 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 13414
Location: In the Forest
i had read that guide
but
was unsure of this.
Quote:
(Grab the newest aad1f_vxxx.zip and extract the private folder to the root of the SD Card)

when i go to that site
im not 100% on what to get
Quote:
aad1f_vxxx.zip


"FIGHTING TYRANNY in a TECHNOLOGICAL NOTTINGHAM"
Image
No Questions by PM.


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 4:30 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:06 pm
Posts: 4039
Try this one man. They say most people can use this one:

http://bannerbomb.qoid.us/aads/aad1f_v108.zip

You might consider installing bootmii on that one as boot2 man, just as a safeguard. That way you can dump the nand and be able to restore it if something gets bricked.


Sadalius

No questions by PM please


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 4:35 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 13414
Location: In the Forest
yea
that is the one i got

what about this iso stuff man.

Quote:
Do not install Preloader before installing IOS60.wad. This will create a (fixable) semi-brick. If you want to use Preloader, install it after IOS60.

from that guide.

im not understanding all these different ios .wads it is saying to load.
I guess they are not the same thing and im just writing over the last one.
that is what i was think.

I was think its like a firmware and when you flash in a new one it writes over the one that is on there now.

can you shed some light on that. :?


"FIGHTING TYRANNY in a TECHNOLOGICAL NOTTINGHAM"
Image
No Questions by PM.


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 4:40 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:06 pm
Posts: 4039
IOS's are basically operating systems. It's kind of hard to explain, but I'll try. The processor has slots to hold operating systems called IOS each program that runs on the wii uses a particular IOS. Each IOS is assigned a number. The number is known as the major revision. Like IOS36. Only on IOS can be in a slot at one time. It's impossible to have IOS36v9 installed at the same time as IOS36v10. Each game or process calls the IOS that it uses to load with and the functions that are in that IOS is what you get while the game or program is being ran. In the case of custom IOS, these are just patched IOS to add features like truca signing or loading games from USB.

You might read this to get a better idea:
http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/IOS_History

I wouldn't worry about pre-loader. Thats basically bootmii made by someone else.


Sadalius

No questions by PM please


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 5:18 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 13414
Location: In the Forest
ok got all that done.
now i want to install the ios60(as long as i need it)

i have set up my sd card with the apps folder and the wad folder.
Im working from the HBC.
im running the wad manger v1.4
to install the ios60
but it gives me the option to
"select ios version to use :ios249,ios4,ios9,ios11,ios12" and so on
im not sure at this point which one i should use.

and if you have a idea of what the difference is would be great. :?


"FIGHTING TYRANNY in a TECHNOLOGICAL NOTTINGHAM"
Image
No Questions by PM.


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 5:28 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:06 pm
Posts: 4039
If you've already got backup launcher installed, try loading a backup before going through with installing IOS 60.


Sadalius

No questions by PM please


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 5:37 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:06 pm
Posts: 4039
Also, makes sure to install cios36 r10 after you try backups. When you go to install IOS 60, tell it to use IOS 249. Once you do that though, you'll have to take the bannerbomb exploit off the SD card or the system will freeze when trying to access the SD card.


Sadalius

No questions by PM please


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 7:28 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 13414
Location: In the Forest
sadalius wrote:
If you've already got backup launcher installed, try loading a backup before going through with installing IOS 60.

yea
it will play a backup
that is burned on dvd -r
but
not dvd +r :D

sadalius wrote:
makes sure to install cios36 r10 after you try backups.

ive done the backup so ill do the cios36 r10 now
then im going to do the firmware update 4.0

sadalius wrote:
Once you do that though, you'll have to take the bannerbomb exploit off the SD card or the system will freeze when trying to access the SD card.

after i went by the guide and was done i took bannerbomb off the card.
ill be doing the rest of the from the HBC.

sadalius wrote:
try loading a backup before going through with installing IOS 60.

does that mean if it plays a backup
i dont need to install the ios60
got a answer on that after reading a different post .
This was the reply i got.
Quote:
Void

Quote:
Installing trucha-patched IOS60.wad is for playing wad installed games from an SD card on 4.0


my question now is
does it matter which i do first the firmware update 4.0 or the ios60 install.


"FIGHTING TYRANNY in a TECHNOLOGICAL NOTTINGHAM"
Image
No Questions by PM.


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 9:30 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:06 pm
Posts: 4039
I would do ios60 first, then the waninkoko update. I answered the question for ya man, you had to go behind my back eh??? HAHAHAHA!!!

You at the game room right now?


Sadalius

No questions by PM please


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 9:33 pm 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 13414
Location: In the Forest
yea man
i live out here


"FIGHTING TYRANNY in a TECHNOLOGICAL NOTTINGHAM"
Image
No Questions by PM.


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:11 pm 
User avatar
Ally of Robinhood
Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:30 pm
Posts: 1767
Location: Clarksville, TN
Hey guys I've been trying to follow along and get as much info as possible, i'm about to do my first Wii and was wondering what exactly this mod is for. I looked at all of the instructions but never seen anything as to what it actually does.

EDIT: Never mind I see now it installs the homebrew channel, but does that alone allow to play backups or just run the GUIfx loader?


Image
Today Money, Tomorrow the WORLD!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:46 pm 
User avatar
Possible Ally of Robinhood
Possible Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:35 pm
Posts: 833
Location: FL
No you have to install a back-up-game-loader or the GUI-FX Loader to play backups.

Check this out: http://www.yafaze.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=74&t=55


[url=http://www.xboxlc.com/profile/rkd2398[/url]
Image


Please No Questions by PM, Use the board that's what it's for.


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: sof mod
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:33 pm 
User avatar
Ally of Robinhood
Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:30 pm
Posts: 1767
Location: Clarksville, TN
Seems easy enough, I definitely like the softmods better, how do you remove the HBC and other mods if you need/want to?


Image
Today Money, Tomorrow the WORLD!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Search for:
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
New Topic Post Reply  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page
1, 2
 >> Next 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
Jump to:  

cron
Powered by Skin-Lab © Alpha Trion