Robin Hoods Playground

Welcome to Robin Hoods Playground
Home Page FAQ Team Search
Login 
View unanswered posts View active topics  

Delete all board cookies

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




New Topic Post Reply  [ 3 posts ] 
  Print view
Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
Offline 
 Post subject: Tv Tuner Card
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 6:02 pm 
User avatar
Ally of Robinhood
Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:46 am
Posts: 4088
Location: Alberta, Canada
I am thinking about buying a TV tuner card... I have a PVR upstairs, but I prefer to watch tv downstairs. I do have a digital cable box down there, and often watch TV on it. I would LOVE a PVR, but dont really want to spend 500+ for one... Then a friend of mine explained he had a tv tuner card in his pc, and watches and records TV on his xbox.

I will be upgrading to vista, so do you guys know if you can do this with vista + xbox, or does it only work with xbox + media centre?

Also, I am looking on ebay for the cards lots of them seem to have weird pin configurations... like this: http://i.ebayimg.com/01/!BVQzHRgCGk~$%2 ... Mw~~_1.JPG

I dont have any ports on my Mobo that look like that... All the ports I have on my mobo are like 11 pin then a piece of plastic then 7 pin. Or the same pin config as a the via card. (I have no idea what the little 11 pin, then 7 pin ports are for)


Image

HaGGard@robinhoodsplayground.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: Tv Tuner Card
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:11 am 
User avatar
Ally of Robinhood
Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:30 pm
Posts: 1767
Location: Clarksville, TN
As long as you have either Home Premium or Ultimate you'll be fine because all of the MediaCenter components are still there. And I would definitely spring for the higher end (more expensive) models as most of them will provide better quality and better options overall.


Image
Today Money, Tomorrow the WORLD!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: Tv Tuner Card
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:17 pm 
User avatar
Ally of Robinhood
Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:46 am
Posts: 4088
Location: Alberta, Canada
Ive done a bit of research and it seems the only card you can really buy is the Microsoft one, and that's close to $200. Its not worth it in my opinion, i will just download the shows I want to watch the day after onto my computer.


Image

HaGGard@robinhoodsplayground.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Search for:
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
New Topic Post Reply  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
Jump to:  

cron
Powered by Skin-Lab © Alpha Trion