Robin Hoods Playground

Welcome to Robin Hoods Playground
Home Page FAQ Team Search
Login 
View unanswered posts View active topics  

Delete all board cookies

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




New Topic Post Reply  [ 8 posts ] 
  Print view
Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
Offline 
 Post subject: Hard drive
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:01 pm 
User avatar
Trusted Member
Trusted Member

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 198
Location: North Carolina
Want to put a old xbox hard drive in a computer. It`s a 300 gig and my computer doe`t see it as a hard drive.
I`m useing XP windows. Any one know a easy way to format this hard drive?


Robinhoods Playground!


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: Hard drive
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:08 pm 
User avatar
Possible Ally of Robinhood
Possible Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:41 pm
Posts: 702
Location: KY
You may have to use command prompt. Check you jumper settings to and set to cable select or slave, this may help you if you haven't done it already.

found this online:
How to return a Hard drive to its original condition (Like when you bought it new)

1 Insert the Windows 98 BOOT Disk (into the A Floppy Drive)
2 Select (start computer WITHOUT CD-Rom support)
3 @ The A prompt Type (FDISK)
4 (Enable Large Disk Support) do not use this option if you are using WIN95 *
5 Choose #4 Display Partition Information (incase your drive has been split into multiple drives, then hit the ENTER key then press the ESC key to continue))
6 @ fdisk option Choose #3
7 Choose #1 DELETE Primary DOS Partition or choose the partition you wish to delete
(This is your LAST chance to back out)

8 Hit ENTER
9 Hit ENTER
10 Type the letter Y

11 Hit ENTER (ONCE YOU HIT THE ENTER KEY THERE IS NO GOING BACK)
12 HIT ESC
13 HIT ESC
14 HIT ESC
15 RE Start the Computer using the re-set button or turn the power off wait 10 seconds then turn the power back on.
16 LOAD Your Operating System the DRIVE IS NOW BLANK**

*If you are using Windows 95 it must be the B version which supports large drives and your BIOS MUST support large disks to use Large Disk Support. However you can break up your hard disk into drives of 2gig or less to avoid this limitation and use the entire disk space. If you do not elect to break up your hard disk and you have not elected to enable large disk support FDISK allocates the size it wants and continues. You can loose a substantial amount of hard disk space depending upon the size of the drive if you don’t break it up.
** You will need to format each of the hard drives created in FDISK if you are using Windows 95.
***If you don’t know the volume label you need to exit FDISK, format the drive (to remove the volume label) and start the FDISK procedure again.


Special Note:

If your drive is large enough (60 GB or larger) I suggest you split your drive into two segments a drive #1 around 20 to 40 GB (keep in mind drive #1 needs to be large enough to hold your Operating System and ALL of your Programs) and a drive #2 that uses the balance of the drive. Use drive #1 for the Operating System and Programs. The #2 drive can be used as a DATA drive (store anything you want to keep like letters, backup files, ETC) incase you need to reinstall your Operating System and Programs (for some reason) on drive #1.

Hope this helps

sorry for the format of post I just copied and pasted it from a MS Word doc


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: Hard drive
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:12 pm 
User avatar
Possible Ally of Robinhood
Possible Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:07 am
Posts: 968
Location: Somewhere in the forest
Are u planning on doing a fresh install of windows?? like xp??
If so just connect it up to your pc and boot from and xp cd
Follow all prompts
It will format and instal a fresh copy of windows

Or if u just wanna use it in the pc u are using
go to my computer
right click on the drive and select format

If your pc wont pick it up just play around with the jumpers until it does


Image


Last edited by djshauny1 on Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: Hard drive
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:15 pm 
User avatar
Possible Ally of Robinhood
Possible Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:41 pm
Posts: 702
Location: KY
He's saying that his computer isn't seeing the drive, so there's no way to right-click it because it's not there.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: Hard drive
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:39 am 
User avatar
Ally of Robinhood
Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 12:50 pm
Posts: 1821
Location: Up high in the tree looking out for the Sheriff of Nottingham
some times the computer doesnt see the drive. This happens to some makes of brand new hdd or locked ones
what you need to do is this
control pannel
administrator tools
computer managment
then on the left tree you will see a icon called disk management

if its there you will see it in that screen you may just need to format it through there so that windows see it

let me know how you get on


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


................................................................RobinHoods Very Own
.......................................Image
I do this for the fun and pleasure in helping people. But this is NOT my job. Post up on the boards with your question and some body will help you dont use the PM system.


Last edited by commando_lee on Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image re done


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: Hard drive
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:42 am 
User avatar
Possible Ally of Robinhood
Possible Ally of Robinhood

Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:07 am
Posts: 968
Location: Somewhere in the forest
sccrbrandon4788 wrote:
He's saying that his computer isn't seeing the drive, so there's no way to right-click it because it's not there.

thats why i said play with the jumpers


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: Hard drive
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:54 am 
User avatar
Robinhood
Robinhood

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 13414
Location: In the Forest
:shock:
huge img there man
resize it down some


"FIGHTING TYRANNY in a TECHNOLOGICAL NOTTINGHAM"
Image
No Questions by PM.


Top
 Profile  
 
Offline 
 Post subject: Re: Hard drive
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 7:01 am 
User avatar
Trusted Member
Trusted Member

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 198
Location: North Carolina
I got it to work by using what sccrbrandon4788 had told me. :D
I will try what you said next time commando_lee. Sccrbrandon4788 just replyed so fast I did what
he said and it worked great. djshauny1 I did not have a copy of windows Xp for that computer.
I got 4 pentium 4 computers for 100.00 and they did not come with a install disk.

Thanks everybody.


Robinhoods Playground!


Top
 Profile  
 
Search for:
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
New Topic Post Reply  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
Jump to:  

cron
Powered by Skin-Lab © Alpha Trion